• Amy Wisdom

Paleo | Keto | Gluten free

Updated: Jun 27, 2019

It's a little confusing, isn't it?

Ok, I've gathered some info about all of the above + a little imperfect wisdom.

Here goes:

For Paleo, Mayo Clinic says:

A paleo diet typically includes lean meats, fish, fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds — foods that in the past could be obtained by hunting and gathering. A paleo diet limits foods that became common when farming emerged about 10,000 years ago. These foods include dairy products, legumes and grains.

Other names for a paleo diet include Paleolithic diet, Stone Age diet, hunter-gatherer diet and caveman diet.

What to eat:

Fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds, lean meats, especially grass-fed animals or wild game fish, especially those rich in omega-3 fatty acids, such as salmon, mackerel and albacore tuna, oils from fruits and nuts, such as olive oil or walnut oil

What to avoid:

Grains, such as wheat, oats and barley, legumes, such as beans, lentils, peanuts and peas, dairy, products with refined sugar, salt, potatoes, highly processed foods in general


Ok, lean meats, fish, fruits, veggies. I get it. But conflict already, do I eat nuts or not? (I'm not really talking about me, I'm figuring all this out for someone else). I LOVE nuts. almonds are my go-to snack. Anywho, let's carry on.

For Keto, Diet Doctor says:

(Ketogenic Diet for beginners)

A keto or ketogenic diet is a low-carb, high-fat diet that can help you burn fat more effectively. It has many benefits for weight loss, health and performance, as shown in over 50 studies

The “keto” in a ketogenic diet that comes from the fact that it allows the body to produce small fuel molecules called “ketones”. This is an alternative fuel source for the body, used when blood sugar (glucose) is in short supply


Not exactly what I'm looking for

For gluten free, Healthline suggests:

A gluten-free diet involves excluding foods that contain the protein gluten, including wheat, rye and barley.

Most studies on gluten-free diets have been done on people with celiac disease, but there is another condition called gluten sensitivity that also causes problems with gluten.

If you are intolerant to gluten, then you need to avoid it completely. If not, you will experience severe discomfort and adverse health effects.

Completely avoiding gluten can be challenging.

This is because it is found in many common ingredients that are added to foods.

These are the main sources of gluten in the diet so you would need to avoid:

Wheat-based foods like wheat bran, wheat flour, spelt, durum, kamut and semolina, barley, rye, triticale, malt, & brewer’s yeast

Below are some foods that may have ingredients containing gluten added to them:

bread, all wheat-based bread, all wheat-based pasta & cereal.

Unless labeled gluten-free, these could all contain gluten: cakes, cookies, muffins, pizza, bread crumbs and pastries. Candy, muesli bars, crackers, pre-packaged convenience foods, roasted nuts, flavored chips and popcorn, pretzels. Soy sauce, teriyaki sauce, hoisin sauce, marinades, salad dressings. Beer, flavored alcoholic beverages. Couscous & broth.

What to eat:

The easiest way to avoid gluten is to eat unprocessed, single-ingredient foods


So this could be the answer. That is pretty broad. But specific.

I guess the next step is testing for this whole life changing gluten free thing...

Paleo, keto, gluten free

25 views0 comments

©2019 by Imperfect Wisdom. Proudly created with